Sitting Hard

today was such a back breaking day at work. eleven hours, lots of adrenaline and stress. Quotas had to be met. I was exhausted when i finally got home. Sitting often restores my alertness. but today i was so tired.
i could barely get my body into a half lotus or burma position

As far as Zazen or meditative sitting, i now make sure i do it at least once a day. whether i am up to it or not.I think that meditating is usually best when spontaneous, but Zazen is a good exercise in discipline.
Discipline can be a fountain to draw from…. even though it is not all the waters.
So since i have been sitting every day, I have been able find a peaceful state with greater ease, and it easier to let go of my restless thinking.

so i am tired and not totally sharp, but i am not completely scattered today. A hard sitting once in a while seems better than not sitting at all.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

Leave a Reply

