sloppy joe meditation

It was a rushed day. I sat down to eat my left over sloppyt joes and canned peaches. My mind and body was still racing.

I remembered an old sports training/ zen idea,. one where one sits with single mandarin orange and enjoys eating it over the spand of 2 hours.But i had a sloppy joe sandwich and canned peaches.

Eating is need of life just like breathing and a natural part of my existence. so I ate my sandwich slowly… tasted each bite with an exploring sense and felt my entire mouth chew…
caressing the morsels with my tongue gums teeth and olfactory.
No thoughts of the day. No watching TV while woofing down my meal. … slowly no rush.

It wasnt smooth i was aware of my mind trying to flutter onto a topic other than my sandwich. I am a novice. everyone is a novice.
When i got to the canned peaches it was easier…Me meditating with my sloppy joe and peaches.my felt peaceful. And i slipped into my exercises followed by sitting.

On my drive to work this morning the lunar eclipsed moon smiled down on me.

I smiled back.

posted origionaly 8-28-07

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

Leave a Reply

