Fundamental and Creative

I have two loose categories of meditating that i use today. I will call them “Fundamental” meditation and “Creative Meditation….

Fundamental Meditation

My fundamental meditation is a planned daily meditation, often with my daily exercise. I started years ago with Breathing exercises. Later I used basic Pranayama as my daily planned meditation. Today I use Zazen seated meditation, I find the most effective for me now.

The purpose of my fundamental meditating is to promote discipline in concentration, breathing, and posture over the course of a day. Also it helps keep me tuning in.
Zazen … similar to a morning jog, or shaving… is not always something i look forward to doing, But i always seem to feel refreshed afterwards.

Creative Meditation

My Creative meditation is spontaneous and unplanned. It can be a new breathing exercise to experiment with…Or using meditation and applying it to journaling, drawling, dancing or a work task… a meditation can be on the process of an activity or even on the process of thinking. It may be a the taking-in of a pleasant breeze or a self therapy for momentary stress.

The overall purpose of my creative meditating, is to promote spontaneity, and creativity as well as improve intuitiveness.

After all …
if we human are toolmakers, Then the toolmaker in us is : our inherit creativity and discovery, not just our rational problem solving.

Both these “categories” of meditation i use serve to sharpen each other.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

Leave a Reply

