clarification to the critics

I’ve experienced and seen more and more hostility lately. Mostly on on the web and TV.
I read a comment on a fellow blogger’s post on Zen that Zazen (meditation) is dangerous. I have been told that seated meditation is a rejection of life. Some people, who see me meditating are sure i am depressed when i am meditating, or i am being antisocial. even when i tell them i’m just resting my mind.

I have had several people, friends and not, tell me they hate this blog, very angrily.
Perhaps I have misconstrued or poorly communicated.
So I will clarify:
** It ridiculous to judge a person solely on a blog. personal blogs are often tuned to a personal subject— not the entire persons life. I do zen seated meditation 20 minutes to an hour a day. I often stop and tune-in what i am doing: physical work, sports, enjoying nature. I do not sit isolated in some room all day meditating.

** Meditation does not mean that you hate thinking, or all thinking is bad. This is not true at all. Alan Watts once decribed zen meditation is as letting go our language and symbol based thinking, for a breif period of time.
the zen perspective says the some of the ways we think are defense mechanisms. Some thought behaviors may be intrusive and less protective. Not All Thinking is Intrusive. Zazen in fact, helps to clear thinking and improve concentration.

** Meditation is not Quackery or Witchcraft. even if its effect were just a placebo it is accepted by Western Medicine.
As Yogagarden.com once said: Meditation is not Magic. Its like flossing your teeth. Its something you do daily [to take care of yourself] even when you don’t want to.

meditation is one of many activities ,(which include exercise, writing, hobbies) that are integrated into my “self therapy”. These things allow me to be productive, a positive influence to people in my life, respect nature, and enjoy life. Right along side with people who don’t use meditation.

No one single form of meditation is for everyone. Meditation is not for everyone. No should say : meditation is something everyone must do.– its a choice issue.
Obviously, if you read my blogs, meditation does not help improve grammar and spelling.
Attack my grammar not my choice of meditation. ;)

~

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

2 Responses to clarification to the critics

  1. patrickdk says:

    I don’t really know how I got here, i was just surfin’. But you caught my attention.

    I’m sorry to hear that you feel attacked. It’s always unpleasant. Meditation might be a waste of time, or it might be the best spent time in your life. But time is already spent, there is an end to walking this world an we know nothing of it untill it hits us.

    My addendum to this post would be deduction of the clear fact, that the subject is interesting. And that’s a good thing.

    Anyone who utters grumpy words without there being a questionmark at the end of said sentence are wasting their precious time on the planet. God bless’ them with this insight, and that coming from an agnostic is quite something :-)

    I’ll continue my interesting read here… thank you for blogging.

  2. Johnny says:

    Just checking out your site from the post you left on mine. Very nice site, love your gravatar!

    A note on thinking. . .
    Lester Levinson stated something along the lines of, all thinking is a distraction and to stop thinking completely is the key to enlightenment. The reasons is, the mind is a mechanism and it constantly compares and contrasts things while Wisdom (God consciousness) just knows without any thought involved. So. . . clear the mind. . . then you have wisdom and not irrational “thinking.” ;)

Leave a Reply

