Tai Chi and me

a river current moves water to the river’s mouth with force and energy.
A canoe is moved by its paddler, the energy of paddlers moves the canoe. If the Canoe is paddled up stream on the river, it requires more energy from canoe… Chopping breaking water thrashing

However if the canoe turns and rows with the current of the river, the two forces move together.
Less energy is expelled. Less chopping of the water between the paddles and the water. less resistance between the canoe and the river. The two forces are moving together instead of conflict.

I have started Tai Chi this weekend with the video:

Step by Step Tai Chi with Tiffany Chan.


the trailer for the video.
The video is accessible to a beginner, slowly taking you through the movement repetitions.

My Gestalt therapist suggest investigating Tai chi to me a while back. I have Arthritis through my body and some budging disks in my back. Tai Chi is a low impact form of meditation/exercise with movement.

I do not know a lot about the details of Tai Chi, other than it is away to learn to move with less unnecessary resistance in the body to allow the mind/body to flow together. The art has gained popularity world wide as a form of health and mindfulness exercise.

I do not want to know everything yet. That defeats the purpose of experiential discovery . So I am just following the video and doing the exercises and to being in the movements.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

3 Responses to Tai Chi and me

  1. sulochanosho says:

    Hi Chris, now this worpress site looks cute and handy, eventhough your usual passionate colorful visual/graphical magics, moves, displays are not there.

    Please retain it eventhough I am sure you dismantle it anytime. Becoz, you are continuously on ‘change’ mood and mode.

    You have pooled together in your site here and elsewhere a good deal of awareness and life transformation stuffs and resources. I always love and appreciate it. Here your presentation and wrings are your own ‘first hand experience’ based – that’s the beauty of the postings here.

    May our suffering world be healed and harmonized.

    I do frequently take time off to go thru the lines and passages and videos of your space here, which gives a ‘soothing refreshing’ experience.

    Good day.

  2. wujimon says:

    Taiji is great for health and general well-being. If you are interested, check out some videos by Dr. Paul Lam. He has a series called Tai Chi for Arthritis that is basically a variation upon the Yang and Sun styles of taiji.

    Good luck!

  3. chris says:

    @sulochanosho – thanks I now been a blogger for about a year. I still resist focusing a blog on a narrow subject or not shifting my blog around.
    but I like this clean “contempt theme” much better, I think i will stay with it.

    @wujimon thats a really great site you are refering: http://www.taichiforarthritis.com/
    I have been looking through it today. I like your blog too, however marshal arts are out of the question for me. (BTY I loved the War Craft game series my self)

Leave a Reply

