lotus therapy from the N. Y times

It seems meditation is being used more and more in established psychotherapy today.

I’m not sure i always agree with the medical packaging at times… I hear people talk about “deep breathing exercises” that psychiatrist encourage anxiety patients to do on a schedule. the very name “deep” breathing sounds misleading. However I myself started with a single breathing exercise. A mental health nurse taught me while waiting in a doctors office.

“chris, just inhale… count 1-2 -3 -4 exhale 1-2-3-4-5. just repeat for a while with no consideration on when to stop.” this advice from the nurse quited my rambling scrambling unfocused mind: symptoms of my newly diagnosed bipolar disorder, and later-to be diagnosed anxiety disorder. for a brief while my symptoms went away with the exercise..
Today meditation is cornerstone of my therapy, and plays heavily into my own philosophy of living. thus a simple breathing exercise became something very meaningful for me

Today a friend e-mailed me a new York times article on a new “technique” called:
Lotus Therapy.

“I was able to be there, present for the pain,” he said, when the meditation session ended. “To just let it be what it was, without thinking it through.”
The therapist nodded.

this New York Times article by Benedict Carey

explains the growing usage of mindful meditation and tai chi as forms of self therapy. and possibly self exploration. I think it  has an accurate description of how these therapies, drawn from very old practices, are being introduced into therapy today.
Meditation is not a cure for anything, If one is looking for a cure to their pain, angst or anxiety they will not find it.

starting a new meditation therapy technique is best with no expectation other then investigation. After that what will come shall come.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

2 Responses to lotus therapy from the N. Y times

  1. cait17 says:

    Chris!! I am the blogger who abandoned her Send Them To An Island blog earlier today. Your comment has inspired me to jump back on the horse for a little while and see what happens- please read my latest post dedicated to you.

  2. chris says:

    well I like to think i saved a saved a blogs life today. :)
    enjoy your muffins!

Leave a Reply

