here and now

From our first person point of view, what is happening is always in the present time.
What we think and feel about the future; the past; or somewhere else is actually taken place in real time where we are.

I am not saying that nothing is happening elsewhere other than where i am.

Its the here/now lenses that i perceive the future; past; and far away that is happening in the here and now.

Our thinking mind allows us to reevaluate the past; anticipate the future ;make rational judgments on whats happening elsewhere.

This all fine and healthy. along as we realize that all are feelings are of the moment towards the formulated thoughts in our heads of the past, future and elsewhere.
If we forget this realization we can fill are lives with unnecessary, guilt, inhibition, angst and arrogance.

Zen meditation brings me to real time sensing. Simplifying. I can allow my self to let go of the unnecessary baggage and clutter of my cognitions. I learn through living, by experience . with full body in the here and now.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

8 Responses to here and now

  1. sherry says:

    I was a victim of a random violent crime about 3 weeks ago, since then I’ve never exactly felt being in the here and now.

    I know that it’s pointless to devote much thought to random criminal behavior, but sadly my feelings do not agree with my head.

  2. chris says:

    Hi sherry.
    Our body defenses stay up for a long, long time after a traumatic incident. they can keep us on guard from the “here and Now”

    I am hoping you are finding ways of taking care of yourself and your feelings…whether its writing, talking, meditating or being with loved ones.

    your smarts and sensitivities shows through on your blogs.
    I am glad that you stopped by and comment :)

  3. Nards says:

    Thank you Chris. This piece was beautifully written. However, the more I read it, the more my head hurt (smile). Cerebral, full of depth, layers and soul-stirring observations. Wonderful! – Nards

  4. BabaliciouS says:

    Life, in biased perspective, is all about series of causative effects of chosen acts; consequences always follow decissions where time and space act as superlative coercionists. Therefore, my friend, the ‘here and now’ or our primary presence is all that matters, evenmore it determines our presence in the next phase of life –life after death.

    Best regards,
    baba

  5. chris says:

    Thanks Nards, sometimes i make my head hurt too :)

    Baba you have wisdom beyond your young years.
    It is important to think of causality of the here and now to an unknown effect; and understand that every action has potential consequences and positive.

    I think most decisions are made… when check with experience and senses, are the best.
    Go with your gut… go with your core!… in your primary presence
    :)
    ….
    Thanks for both your comments Nards and Baba

  6. Pingback: Alan Watts talks the human game (revised) « Pennsylvania Echoes

  7. Pingback: Time « Pennsylvania Echoes

  8. Pingback: Here and Now, Revisited « Pennsylvania Echoes

Leave a Reply

