Rain, Shine, Catastrophization

Catastrophizing—expecting or concluding only the worst possible outcome.
We often catastophize are circumstances present, past and future.
However,
Bad Things are usually never as terrible as they seem. Our defenses often overplay and distort circumstances that scare us.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
posted by  alefernandeschaves at youtube.

Beatles: “Rain” from 1966

If the rain comes they run and hide their heads.
They might as well be dead.
If the rain comes, if the rain comes.

When the sun shines they slip into the shade
And sip their lemonade.
When the sun shines,
when the sun shines.

Rain, I don’t mind.
Shine, the weather’s fine.

Can you hear me, that when it rains and shines,
It’s just a state of mind
Can you hear me, can you hear me?

Full Lyrics of Rain

*Catastrophizing is a form of thinking where one leaps to the worsed possible out come..
examples….

  • “My son is out driving and he is two hours late… my God he has been in a accident.”
  • “I made a mistake at work… I’m gonna lose my job”
  • “if this party doesn’t go perfectly… my relatives will hate me.”

~
The first step in reducing catastrophic thinking is awareness. writing thoughts down in journals.
working through this kind of thinking error takes time. One way is to right down the possible out comes.

“My son is out driving and he is two hours late…possibly Because :

  1. He was in a accident.
  2. He lost track of the time
  3. He is stuck in traffic.

which is more likely? This is a rational approach.
Also  we must find ways to express our emotions about the possible outcomes. create a dialog between the our thoughts and feelings.

  • ” I feel afraid and powerless over the possibility of my son being in an accident.”

The more aware we are of our thinking process :the more we are able to control the useful tool..

….and integrate it peacefully with the rest of our being.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

2 Responses to Rain, Shine, Catastrophization

  1. Pingback: Growing up Beatles « Pennsylvania Echoes

  2. Pingback: Cognitive Distortions and Thinking Errors of CBT (revisited) | Pennsylvania Echoes

Leave a Reply

