Workday ergonomics, floating and Fighting

A  kayaker    is paddling on a fast current river.
If he paddles up stream he requires much more energy to over come the resistance. He is fighting river current.
If kayaker paddles turns his boat to move with ther current. He requires little resistance and can move easily with the current. He is floating with the river current.
Fighting and floating.

In industrial jobs,like mine, a worker is often required to heavey repetive work.
I have often explain to the younger workers around me how to “float” in their job and not “fight”. It good to challenge ones self at a job, but over long periods of time,  one is better  off working with bodily efficiency , moving smoothly with as little resistance as possible.

Some of the young guys will pick up huge loads of material to load  machine. and Ram it into the machine.they have to load them all day. They are fatigued and sweaty at the end of the work day. Sometimes displeased even though they put in a good workday.

I have encourage  them to:

  • think of their body as a smooth gliding machine
  • experiment and  be conscious of the feeling in their joints when lifting did size loads
  • see what lifting load size creates the least  fatigue on their joints per lift.
  • Be conscious of their breathing, hip back and arm posture
  • Take advantage of gravity and the physics around them
  • ultimately of themselves as part of the whole machine process.
  • Float more than fight.

Of course, most young guys are like I was, at there age, they tend not listen to the advice of older guys. (I wish I would have listen to the advice of older guys, when I was younger… my body creaks with arthritis today)

Unnecessary resistance, stress… “Fighting” can have an accumulating effect over along period of and can affect overall health and happiness…
In any career  office job, Farming job, or industrial job.

One major Field of study  “Ergonomics“.
In industry, Ergonomics is the discipline  of  engineering  the work place and work  equipment to suit the needs of the worker.
examples of  Ergonomics include such things as:

  • computer keyboards that are easier on the users wrists
  • Desk chairs design for posture
  • jack lifts that make unloading loads from skids easier on the back.
  • Brighter lights in a work area which help with both vision and moral.
  • Teaching workers to move safely and efficiently (eg. lift loads  with with legs while your back straight)

The idea is to make the worker/work place more efficient and healthy and therefor more productive. In Ergonomics, the worker is always in mind in designing.

In my work day, I make the “Work Station”, “work process” and me fit together as one…as much as I possibly can.

What I’ve learned over the years, when I leave my work day: less fatigued and more confident… I enjoy my life outside of work more, as well.
The next day I wake up and enjoy going to work. over the long all  I happier and healthier.

Learn to Float  more than fight!

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

One Response to Workday ergonomics, floating and Fighting

  1. chris says:

    Reblogged this on Pennsylvania Echoes and commented:

    Early writing – on the importance of
    posture, flowing , and Ergonomics —
    Dance through your workday!

Leave a Reply

