Hobbies and the art of being poor.

Being poor is pretty easy for me. I grew up with little money. Like many others who grew up poor like me: I can be tight with spending money and a penny pinching to ridiculous extremes.

However, my previous experience in being really poor helps prepare me to get by during these rough economic times. In fact I am quite a master of the art of being poor.
When times get rough we all need those little therapies… hobbies.

Hobbies are activities we do that peak  interests, often ask us to put time in effort to explore the creativity in us. Hobbies are good for are mental wellness… and with can be a fun diversion from the stresses of the bad economic times.

Some of favorite my cheap Hobbies:

Amateur Digital photography.
my first camera is worth about $60 (U.S),

I’ve used the  freeware (thats $0) for photo touch up manipulation or abstracting   like  Photoscape ( perfect for a  newbie and lite enough for a lap top),    or  Gimp 2 ( a bit more advanced then photoscape)

If you wish to share them online their are plenty of free services (Flikr, Facebook, and blog spaces such as WordPress.com, Blogger ) . The most expensive part of this hobby is the computer.

Wild life and Nature Watching
many role their eyes at such thing as bird watching… but studying animal behavior is fascinating  and cheap.  binoculars are looking glasses can be as cheap as a couple dollars at a pawn shop. and bird or animal watching books are just as cheap used.

Games and Gaming
on line gaming and play station are hot social activities that are relatively cheap.  Such games as Poker, Chess (one of my faves), Backgammon are also social fun and cheap and require mental skill.  I had a friend tell me that role playing games such as Dungeons and Dragons are popular again. very social and not expensive.

Creative Writing and Drawling.
these are the cheapest of hobbies, requiring only  pencils and papers… they are less social than the others but one can really challenge themselves or just have fun in their private time.

Some other Hobbies worth investigating.

  • Gardening.
  • Hiking,  and Geo-caching.
  • Home brewing. and cooking.
  • athletics, Weightlifting, Biking, Jogging,  Swimming, etc.
  • musical instruments, or music mixing.
  • Reading, magazine and comic book collecting.
  • Fishing, Archery,  or target shooting
  • arts and crafts.

It not always easy  to find little therapies and social outlets for many,  especially if  there is little money in the bank. But the “Art of being poor” can be a creative challenge for those who willing take up cheap hobbies.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

5 Responses to Hobbies and the art of being poor.

  1. mstinytoesinca says:

    I clicked on the tag “thoughts” and found your post.
    May I add some suggestions for cheap hobbies?
    Going to a thrift store and finding items and making something totally different than what the item was made for – or making it better! For example, a quilted sham by itself isn’t going to look nice without its partner, I was able to sew up the sides and cut the sides for its handles and have a shabby handbag.
    Also a great website,

    http://www.thriftyfun.com/
    has LOADS of ideas for cheap fun!

    Chris’s reply: (sorry for the delay on this comment showing, mstinytoesinca , it was caught in wordpress’s spam system.)
    Thats a terrific idea. I think its also fun to create things items found at thrift shop because we can make expensive looking items out of cheap stuff… just by using our wits and handy skills.
    Thanks for your comment.

  2. Joannah says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Joannah

    http://keyboardpiano.net

  3. yoshizen says:

    I’ve been making all sorts of things out of discarded objects
    or materials. —— may say they are art, sculptures.
    Kinetic sculptures using the motors out of printers, toys etc
    and the aluminium etc from anywhere.
    One of the latest work was a huge pendulum clock mechanism
    out of discarded computer Hard Disc Drive.
    Using its drive motor as the bearing to hung the pendulum and
    as a magnetic position sensor. And the data scanning arm to
    push the pendulum. Its worked perfect for stage performance.
    Its a fun.

  4. chris says:

    Reblogged this on Pennsylvania Echoes and commented:

    What poor people like —
    – please feel free to add thoughts to the comments after the post-

Leave a Reply

