Happy memorial day

Monday is Memorial Day in the U.S.

The holiday was originally a dedicated to remembering those who died in combat or in times of War.


(left: Vietnam memorial ; center: world war II memorial; right: memorial cemetery at Gettysburg … photos from Wikipedia)

Today ,Memorial Day has been unofficially expanded to being a day for gatherings, picnics and barbecues . Some will visit  cemeteries to remember passed loved ones and family members who veterans of war
For many it is Holiday to reflect on the brave acts veterans.

I, with family, will remember my Grandmother and  Grandfather both who served in World War II and my Great Uncle who’s life was taken by a grenade. Many others, as well.

*
“Woody Guthrie’s “This Land is  My Land” … a favorite song of some veterans who’ve passed in my family, and who  I’ll be remembering today .
(video posted at youtube by alargedog)

Happy Memorial day!

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

Leave a Reply

