The Self Autonomy Delusion

If there is nothing to us other than our known biology and physics,
other than our DNA code and reaction to circumstance,

then what willful freedom do we have? we could not even describe the universe as beautiful, miraculous, absurd, or meaningless.
we could not talk the creativity, spontaneity, self awareness or purpose..These adjectives and descriptions would be from mechanisms of the
“evolution” chain reaction… the mental formation of chemical DNA

Of course i realize that the people i see in the streets(for example) are phenomenons
I formulate in my mind these organize wholes of electromagnetic energy as people
and that they are, in my perception, a biology of the parents and family before them….
that the physics before them
around them
and within them
do determine, with my own hand me down code, biology and experience,much h of what they are in my mind.

But what is there that i cannot see
In the spaces between their mathematics
are they or we
more than a prescripted like algorithm?.
Was I predetermined to see people in the steet before I saw them?
and What am I?
if my consciousness are nothing other than the periodic table would I be nothing but a cold spark in a cold flame
The red storm of Jupiter… some Atheists such as Richard Dawkins and his disciples
say that that God and faith are a delusion….

But if there is nothing more to us than biology and physics

Then any freedom or individuality..
or any sense of you or i…
would also be a delusion.

This was an old blog entry from a quirky personal blog from 2007.
I wrote it because I was tired of all the personal blog talk of Richard Dawkins book “The God Delusion.”  (often misquoted by its fans and critics) …and wanted to provoke conversation with some of the more rigid Atheist Deterministic  bloggers who book and speaking of Rational Universe above all else and nothing else,….
and that our behaviors   have no freedom from what’s been determined  the biology and physics of our environment and dna collision.
Anything Else, including the the belief in God is a dellusion.
(I could address the other extreme: the more rigid fundamentalists of Theists but there is more middle ground between my point of view and deterministic Athiests. )

*

The Fact is that without deluding ourselves… or without making a leap of Faith without supported evidence: we couldn’t make it through our day.

I get out of bed each morning and walk to the bathroom to do my usual grooming… I don’t need to calculate the chance  that my elections and my and hall floor electrons are in a physical state that I fall through the floor and land in the TV room. Although the chance is minute… I just make the leap of faith that I will make it to the bathroom ok.

I can make assessments, whether by logic or by personal experience..The confidence to due so doesn’t need to proved materially every time I do so.

I, like most people today, have believed that World is round without actually proving it… or felt th need to prove it.

*The Notion that we are ,or can be, always Rational in our thinking is as Delusional as anything else.

We may define “meaning” in our lives, in  spirituality , Ethics,career, philanthropy, self interests, family, etc….
That drive us to do… even if we cant physically or mathematically define “meaning”.
All this is fine as long as we really Acknowledge we are deluding ourselves, and that delusions and strong beliefs are very much part of living.

My  Code   and Environment may colide and  dynamically sum who “I am”,
But I can can tell you that I have Some Self Autonomy in choosing who I am, even if it requires some dellusion.

I make choices   in a fluid state  between and including independence/dependence  with what is “me ” and not me”…
Freedom/Responsibility,  Meaningful/meaningless. positive/negative consequences .

Self, Free- will and  Choice may be dellusions… especially, if we presume they are not in fluxing interdependence  with environment (which environment is fluxing interdependent  with the rest of the universe, arbitrary to grand).

But, it  is by  my   Self Autonomy and Self Regulation (though they me Abstract descriptions) that I exist.
I: think, breath,  assess, do and choose and exist.

And it is by furthur developing Self Autonomy and Regulation, that I may gain more and more control in the interdependence of me and my environment:

  • Choices in freedom and responsibility
  • Awareness of Me and my environment
  • Assessing both with logic and experience
  • Deciding what is meaningful to meaningless in the above.

And if  developing greater relative ” Self Autonomy and Regulation”.. or” I”
are just another  dellusion or belief (with no proof existence)  than so I choose to believe.

It is Human to Believe, as it Choose and Assess and to Delude ourselves, after all. these “delusions” are ways we communicate what we are.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

One Response to The Self Autonomy Delusion

  1. Pingback: Lacan | Pennsylvania Echoes

Leave a Reply

