Christmas and the non Christian (Repost)

Repost:  Originally posted: December 20, 2008.

Its Christmas season, here in Pennsylvania. Although there are many practiced religions in my home city, I live in a predominately Christian Region. I consider myself an “Agnostic” so I do not join in in the Christian aspects of the holiday.
So I get the occasional question: Do you celebrate Christmas?
And my answers is yes. also:

  • I have a Christmas tree in my house.
  • I goto Christmas parties.
  • I receive and buy Christmas gifts (usually I am still shopping on Xmas eve)
  • I sing Christmas carols
  • I try to trap women under mistletoe toe (my favorite holiday tradition)

Christmas is wrapped up in nostalgia. I have fond memories of this time of year growing up in Pa. Its also a great diversion from the Mid Atlantic region dark days.Christmas s not my favorite cultural holiday, but its a pleasant one.(this is not the case for everyone. Many people find Christmas to be a very depressing time of year.)

I think of Christmas as a humanitarian holiday. to gift, to volunteer, or to donate to humanitarian causes.
This year will be the first year in a long time i am not volunteering on Christmas. I am just to tired, this year. I will have to think of some other way to participate in this Humanitarian Holiday.

I wish season greetings to everyone celebrating:
Christmas, Eid, Hanukkah, Saturnalia, Winter Solstice or Humanitarian Holiday.

white-christmas-tree

Happy Holidays!

Update: I  hate the reruns on TV during the holidays and I hate posting reruns  any here on Pennsylvania Echoes.
However, this is a busy time of year in Pa, and we may have 12 inches of snow by the end of the day and a lot of shoveling.

Happy Holidays !

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

Leave a Reply

