Growing up Beatles

Vodpod videos no longer available.

posted at youtube by: Axion1

I have fond memories of me as child… sneaking into my parents 12″ vinyl record collection.The records them selves had a faint cardboard-ish odor from the  old Album covers that they used in the 1960s.  The Covers  themselves were a treat, 12 inch by 12 inch colorful  art work that you could hold in your hands. A treat for the senses.

But nothing was exciting as, for a 10 year old boy,  playing one of my parents “Beatles” Albums.
The music was (and still is )  rhythmic and jangly, to bombastic
. And the words poetic: at times  peaceful… other times challenging.

Provocative songs, such as  “Nowhere man”  and “Eleanor Rigby” challenged a young boy to look past himself towards others struggles.
Songs such as “Let it be“,    “ Rain “,     “Get by with a little help (with my friends)” passed on value pieces of wisdom.

Since secretly listening to the Beatles on my old record player as a child (Actions, of which, my parents knew already  about)… Music has always played an important part in my life.
I was a record collector into my late twenties, and i have always been seeking out new sounds.
Today, thanks to the Internet,  Music of different forms different bands and singers are more accessible than ever, (certainly more than in the days of buying 12 inch vinyl records from a store.)

Listening to Music has been one of my long cherished hobbies and therapies and I see no end to that now.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

2 Responses to Growing up Beatles

  1. Pingback: $20 for $40 Worth of Books, Music, and Movies at Toad Hall - Koream Deals

  2. Pingback: THE BEATLES - ELEANOR RIGBY - EMI PARLOPHONE R 5493 - VINYL

Leave a Reply

