Praying Mantis, Grasshopper !

An extra terrestrial encounter while I was painting the porch

praying mantis

No invasion grasshopper!… just a friendly praying mantis who apparently wanted to see what I was up to. I was standing nearing his home, the flower bed.

I  have always found these little critters fascinating, since I first discovered them mowing around my parents roses as kid.  They are in fact, not grasshoppers or cicadas, instead a carnivorous insect that feeds on other insects like aphids.

Speaking of carnivorous, the female Praying Mantis have gained notoriety by eating the heads of the males after mating!   perhaps they should should be called ” Preying ”  Mantes.

This Mantis is a male. I picked this guy up , tried to have a little talk with  him about the women of his species and moved him back to the garden so I could go back to we could go back to our respective tasks. When I picked him up he motioned his claw like front legs to me as if he wanted to box with me or hug me… I am not sure… perhaps he wanted to eat me.
In any case we seem to have a mutual fascination with each other.

The praying mantis’ scientific name is the Mantid, they are in the Insect class and closely related in order to cockroaches (The latter  is disturbing to me, but I maintain you can’t chose your relatives). There is more than 2000  types of Mantid and they can be found in Asia, Europe,  North America, and parts of South America and Australia. They mostly eat other insects, anything from crickets, aphids (which is why you may find them near your rose garden), and grasshoppers. Occasionally they have been known to take on small birds, frogs or lizards.
For more info  on Mantids check out:
The PrayingMantis.org

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

6 Responses to Praying Mantis, Grasshopper !

  1. They are truly a fascinating bug to watch. I’ve only seen them a few times in my life and think they are pretty cool – head eaters and all!!

  2. chris says:

    they are indeed fascinating! Thank your comment CC Joss.

  3. Pingback: Capturing The Moment — Photographing The Insect World « Becoming is Superior to Being

  4. Monica says:

    Hi Chris, I hardly ever see these anymore – did have a close encounter with one in Hawaii. Gorgeous!

  5. chris says:

    Reblogged this on Pennsylvania Echoes and commented:

    Mantid -encounter from 2011

Leave a Reply

