On Spotting a Bald Eagles Nest

This weekend saw me and others heading south out of Pennsylvania into Maryland to spot bald eagles.   The Bald Eagles along with turkey vultures and other birds of prey  scan the Conowingo Dam region.   I was told a rumor that the eagles like to hunt the river shad that congregate near the dam but I have not yet been able to confirm that.   A good pair of binoculars can reveal as many as sixty or more Eagles at any given time.   Unfortunately my cheap camera was not as good as a pair of telescope lenses.   I couldn’t get a good picture of the birds (YET)… but I did get a couple others including this Eagles nest.

A Photographer with a real camera (and a telescopic lens)showed me his great shot of the Bald Eagle looming nearby, I could only get a close up of this Eagles nest, with my miserable  camera.:

eagles nest

Bald Eagles Nest

 

Eagles Nest Closer

 
Robert Fulton House

Robert Fulton House

 

Brook near Conowingo

 
 
None the less,  the experience was thrilling, especially being so close to a nest.
On the way back home,   I took a photo of historic  Robert Fulton house, located south of Quarryville  Pa on the “Robert Fulton Hightway” or 222 South.
 
………
 
Below: Slide Show  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


 
 
Next trip I hope to have some more pictures including some Bald Eagles and other large birds.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

9 Responses to On Spotting a Bald Eagles Nest

  1. Jean says:

    That’s always exciting to see eagles.

    We saw a real storks’ nest in Germany. Very cool too since we don’t seem to know of /see storks in Canada. Yea, the same bird in fairytales.

    My blog has photos (type in stork to find it… Sorry, I’m just lazy here..)

  2. chris says:

    I would love to see storks!
    Thanks for your comment , Jean.

  3. There are two Bald Eagles that live just up the road from us. I love seeing them in the big old maple tree. They soar over the property here and on a sunny day their shadow moves across the field. They are such an incredible bird.

  4. chris says:

    They sure are incredible Joss. I live in a small city today, but when I use to live on a foresty foot hill, I use love to listen the occasional squelches echoing as they flew near by.
    Thanks for your comment.

  5. Tom says:

    Great posting. Yesterday, we saw our first Bald eagle over Shrewsbury,PA. We have lived in Shrewsbury for 30 years.

    Thanks for reconfirming my eyes.
    TW

  6. chris says:

    Thanks for comment Tom.

    I was looking a this article about Eagles nests across Pennsylvania.
    It looks like there are a couple in your area:

    http://blog.pennlive.com/wildaboutpa/2011/06/bald_eagles_nests_top_200_acro.html

  7. Pingback: Featured Article: Lewis and Clark Modern Day Hike | North American Educational Explorers

  8. chris says:

    there is a live video stream of an eagle nest at.

    http://www.ustream.tv/DECORAHEAGLES

  9. Pingback: Live Camera Stream oF a Bald Eagles Nest « Pennsylvania Echoes

Leave a Reply

