Cool Chick on a Motorcycle

motorcyclechick 2 motorcycle chicky. jpg

……
Yes that right. The chick in question was a fledgling robin.
The chick was probably learning to fly near his nest. ( a tall cherry tree grows just out of frame) and he/she ended up on the motorcycle (which I’m cleaning up), below. I almost didn’t see him, I walked right by the bike and the young robin never moved, nor uttered a sound. The juvenile looked pretty comfy there… ready to ride. I took a couple pictures since ‘e allowed me get pretty close, with no protest.
Young robins have a mix of white and red with dark spots on there breasts. they are fluffy with tuffs of feathers sticking up on top of their heads. this one had big feet and a big beak. No cycle helmet though. (legally he doesn’t need one in Pennsylvania to ride.)
An hour later the adult robins came around and ‘e was confident enough to fly back to the nest.

Sorry if you came here expecting some other picture. ;)
But this chick was pretty cool. Hope the bike is too when its up and running.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

2 Responses to Cool Chick on a Motorcycle

  1. oh that is just precious. I bet it made you smile and smile!

  2. chris says:

    Yes, it did make me smile. The robin was reasonably safe there.
    A month ago a I placed a fledgling dove up high in a bush — the dove apparently was knocked into the street on windy, stormy day. He made it back to his nest.
    The Robin in the picture also made it back to his nest and I could hear him this morning.

Leave a Reply

