Here and Now, Revisited

I say “I have a memory” – I am remembering.
I say “I will take a walk”. -I am anticipating when ‘I am walking’.
I say “I had a conversation” – I am remembering when I was conversing.
I have a thought and a emotion. – I think, feel, and cognate.
When I read the paper about what is happening over there. I am reading right here.

remembering, walking, anticipating, conversing, reading … thinking, feeling, cognating, acting, doing, being and interacting, saying. — all happen in the Here and Now. The poetic license of of English Language can confuse us at times, but we happen in the here & now.

Here and Now Post – reposted:

From our first person point of view, what is happening is always in the present time.
What we think and feel about the future; the past; or somewhere else is actually taken place in real time where we are.

I am not saying that nothing is happening elsewhere other than where i am.

Its the here/now lenses that i perceive the future; past; and far away that is happening in the here and now.

Our thinking mind allows us to reevaluate the past; anticipate the future ;make rational judgments on whats happening elsewhere.

This all fine and healthy. along as we realize that all are feelings are of the moment towards the formulated thoughts in our heads of the past, future and elsewhere.
If we forget this realization we can fill are lives with unnecessary, guilt, inhibition, angst and arrogance.

Zen meditation brings me to real time sensing. Simplifying. I can allow my self to let go of the unnecessary baggage and clutter of my cognitions. I learn through living, by experience . with full body in the here and now.

previously posted Pennsylvania Echoes:here and now

A definition of being (or Zen true self) includes the present action (including doing and cognating) of a subject (eg. a person or organism). I am walking… I am remembering… I am talking…, I am anticipating…
The “Here and Now” is the  circumstance. It is that meeting place joining being to the always changing world.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

3 Responses to Here and Now, Revisited

  1. Thomas Ross says:

    A great post- and repost.

    Believe we are working on parallel paths.

    Happy to follow.

    Tom

  2. Pingback: My Zen and Empiricism | Pennsylvania Echoes

  3. chris says:

    Reblogged this on Pennsylvania Echoes and commented:

    Active Language & Zen perspective —

Leave a Reply

