Woods on a Snowy Evening

Woods-Dark-and-Deep

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by R. Frost

 

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.


Robert Frost,
Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” from The Poetry of Robert Frost, edited by Edward Connery Lathem. Copyright 1923, © 1969 by Henry Holt and Company, Inc., renewed 1951, by Robert Frost.
additional resource: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/

“Stopping by Woods on a Snowing Evening” is one of my favorite poems. It was one of my fathers favorite poems –fitting for a man who spent much of his life hiking in the woods and taking his family to state and county parks. I recited this poem at my fathers remembrance in July.

Both dad and I read a lot. We spoke oft of the literary theme of “What is it to be Human“. “What is it to be human” is explored in Frost’s Poem. What is… human-nature
The protagonist narrator stops to watch these woods fill up with snow, they are lovely dark and deep. Yet his horse, accompanying and journeying with him, cannot understand. What is to be human? to be able to enjoy the aesthetics of a his surroundings, to find a rich symbolism.. for peace, (perhaps even death -as many readers of the poem have suggested). The narrator protagonist, after enjoying the moment, returns to his sense of responsibility, shared by loyal companion upon their journey.
He has promises to keep. And Miles to go before he sleep.
Dad had alway encouraged a sense of responsibility in me. I have miles to go before I sleep.

Recently, donated by family members, a tree was planted in remembrance of Dad.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

4 Responses to Woods on a Snowy Evening

  1. Pingback: Favorite Poetry: “Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening” By Robert Frost. | Deo Volente

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    One of my favorite poems….
    and perfect for the beginning of today…
    Thank you for sharing…
    Take Care…
    (and Thank you for stopping by my thoughts, I appreciate it)
    )0(
    ladyblue

  3. chris says:

    Thank you!
    Robert Frost is one of my favorite poets, and this is one of my favorite poems by him.

  4. chris says:

    Reblogged this on Pennsylvania Echoes and commented:

    poem by Robert Frost—

Leave a Reply

