Burke, Balanced Anarchy and the Internet

 
A segment of James Burke’s TV show “The Day the Universe Changed“.
Here, from the mid 1980’s Burke predicts the Internet. It is a profound importance of the  Internet that it remains a communication medium where no privileged view should dominate, a communication of heterogeneous voices. – a global pluralistic  intersubjective forum that remains defiant of  the tyranny of any one way of thought.

Starting in my earliest teens,  I love science. My father loved History.  Growing up, together  we watched James Burke’s TV shows like Connections and The Day the Universe Changed  — The former a fun look at the history of science; the latter the history of knowledge.  I am still mad I missed meeting James Burke when we gave a lecture at a near by University.  I was in High School at the time of his visit to my hometown.

  • There are and have been, many ways of thinking and problem solving;
  • politics and culture  coerce world-views;
  • no one paradigm fits all circumstances;
  • systems of thought maybe, at times, means of control, and at other times maybe a means of freedom. freedom that leads to gained autonomy.

This I have learned and I credit James Burke, in part, to this education.

In 1992, On a college mate’s   computer , I saw the World wide Web and Internet for the first time.  I was blown away.  I started by playing a video game.  It was  downloaded to my friends Amiga in Pennsylvania from a server in England… in minutes.  Silly, but the potential was obvious.  I think a few young people take the Internet for granted.  To me, It was of the most important developments I ever witnessed.

What has the the Internet has come to be?  a  means of  communicating disinformation as much as it is  communicating “truth”  from any personal perspective.  But that too is  lesson in freedom and intersubjectivity.  An  individual has a choice what to believe or reject, without being told so by authority. An individual must seek out his own means of verification in   a sea of   data, and his own means of deciding what is meaningful, unimportant or outright bullshit.
I still welcome the chatter of many ideas.  I welcome the freedom  of discovery and ignorance without being told what to think.

The Internet is important.
And so is James Burke  :)

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

One Response to Burke, Balanced Anarchy and the Internet

  1. chris says:

    Reblogged this on Brown Bess Replica and commented:

    –The internet is important…

Leave a Reply

