Wetland photos 2

I had another good thanksgiving day. I have notice the hype that Turkeys this time of year. But I thought I’d share some pictures other fowl, waterfowl Herons and kingfishers… plus some of there turtles friends hanging out together on a man made pond — a well kept overflow and runoff reservoir.
 
click on any image to start the  gallery:
 
 


 

I visited this marshy area quite a bit over summer, and I am surprised that turtles sit so comfortably next to the birds. Equally interesting is that the two Herons (A blue heron and a white egret) did not show any confrontational or territorial ill feelings toward each other… in fact the birds fished together, sometimes only a couple feet away from each other. They moved spot to spot in the pond usually with the geese and ducks.. perhaps this communal friendliness was for safety, or perhaps better fishing opportunities… or perhaps both.
It should be pointed out that all these critters were benefiting from a man made run of reservoir, even man can get along with turtle and wild birds.

… as long as the bird ain’t a turkey.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

Leave a Reply

