Policies of Work

I was looking in a notebook on my computer and reviewing some of my personal policies and principles of work.
They have changed over the years. I have spent a lot of years in manufacturing and production, and I really beat my body (and mind) up when I was young. “Being a good worker” has always been important to me. That has never changed. But as I have aged I have learned to be more efficient in regard to staying healthy and happy.

Here is a rough list of policies I practice…. some policies from Zen and Permaculture Design writers that I have incorporated into my strategies and tactics of everday work:

Be practical

  • do what works… experience is useful.

 

Wu wei

  • no action, effort or thinking beyond whats needed. (wu wei)

 

Bring the right attitude:

  • keep a “beginners mind“- Suzuki Shōsan.
  • Be confident, unassuming, mindful(observant) and playful (experimental).

 

Be ergonomic and efficient.

  • understanding my body and my environment while at work.
  • always remember good posture and movement.
  • always use as little stresses on my body/mind as possible: See Wu Wei.
  • create good structures and workstations (e.g use a surface tall enough when working on it)
  • Use the correct tool the correct way. ( more on ergonomics)

 

Use everyday science

  • use my understandings of leverage, thermodynamics, rates, even saturation (I am pretty damn good and fast at mopping floors with only hot water :) ), gravity and other forces

 

K.I.S.S or Keep it Simple [,Stupid]

  • make small changes for the greater benefit.
  • it is much easier understand the changes (including costs and consequences) of a tweak,change or experiment when it is uncomplicated

 

Know the players of the playground

  • heh-heh. This one might seem to contradict the previous policy a bit, but it calls for a little balance. One thing I have learned is people, coworker’s that is, do bring their personalities to work with them. Know what a boss expects out me, and know what my coworkers want out of their day at work. Just like back in school, there are followers, there are there are the Kings and Queens. Work life is alot easier if one pays attention to this.
  • In Short: don’t step on toes, inadvertently; and acknowledge coworkers existence and place… usually as simple as a smile and ‘good-morning’.

 

“The problem is the solution”

  • Quote from Bill Mollison. Use difficulties to positive means

 

the standard of Quality is the conformance to Zero defects.

  • this policy only works in producing goods of the same kind (such as assembly line production)…It was one I used in my twenties at work. Personally I do not care for any universal or “standard” policies of quality or conformity when dealing with people, animals, organisms, communities or ecosystems. Thus, this old policy of mine may get thrown out.

 

Be Ethical.

  • practice reciprocity, remain dignified and respect others.
  • practice my primary cares: Care of people, Care of Earth, my primary concern of mental wellness

 

the policy of responsibility of authority

  • “The role of beneficial authority is to return function and responsibility to a system or people.
    If successful no further authority is needed”. from Bill Mollison’s Permaculture.
  • in my words: encourage self-sustainability in others… environment and other people.(See me poem!)

 
 

I hope to get old gracefully,with less pain and fatigue, and with good productivity.
May you do the same.

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

One Response to Policies of Work

  1. Pingback: Lacan | Pennsylvania Echoes

Leave a Reply

