on Being Empirical, Rational and Epistemologally Plural.

Pennsylvania Echoes

An old Economist  joke revised:

Two economy professors walk into  into a crowded bar .  One  pointed to the ground  and says “look! five dollar bill “. “It can’t be.” replied the Other.   “If it were somebody would have picked it up by now.”

This is  rational expectation in “rational choice theory”.  The  punch line of the joke is that  professors the believes in his principles of logic so strongly that he ignores the facts.  His rational expectation is only a prediction based on a logical foundation. It is only a prediction because circumstance challenges foundation.

I  flip a silver dollar coin  nine  consecutive times and in all nine times tails came up heads . I am now going to a flip the coin a tenth  and final time.

Janus CoinIs it more likely that the coin comes up heads again like it had before?   Or should I bet that the…

View original post 1,148 more words

About chris
I write because I'm not good at it. I share because, writing without sharing seems empty. Thus, I write and share what I think is meaningful.

Leave a Reply

